Kailua Town Farmers’ Market

Fresh.jpg

Hey everyone, hope you all had a wonderful Christmas! I just got back from Kailua’s Farmers’ Market. This quaint little market may seem like nothing special, it is by no means legendary or renowned. Perhaps, the best way to describe it is as a community’s secret gem. People from around town meet at this energetic, friendly, market to discuss food and to listen to live music. Every week features a local band or artist, and each Sunday market goers can be found dancing to the upbeat tunes.

Singing.jpg

The guy on the floor couldn’t stop grinning!

I cannot be described as a regular, despite riding my bike to town almost every Sunday. I usually go right past it, not thinking twice about the market. Today, however, I deviated from my usual path. I was pleasantly surprised by the amount of vendors and shoppers! There was organic honey, strange green drinks, crepes and fresh coconuts! I stood, entranced, by the man wielding a large knife (there must be a different name for it…) and cutting the coconuts in half! I think that, in the picture below, I was able to catch coconut bits flying from his swing. 🙂

Coconut.jpg

There was more than just food at this Farmers’ Market, there was painted jewelry boxes and Christmas decorations, knitted fish hats and octopuses, handmade necklaces, dog allergy medicine and plants. It is incredible the talents that people have, sometimes I just had to stop in awe at what others have created. I loved this woman’s knitted hats! I was also very happy that she stopped to smile at me, it can be so awkward taking other’s pictures!

Smile.jpg

I have decided that I am going to go to all the Farmers’ Markets on O’ahu, however long it may take me. How else am I going to be able to compare them? Although, I don’t believe any can take the place of my beloved Kailua Farmers’ Market. Have a wonderful week and don’t be afraid to deviate from your path. You never know what you will find, it just may change your life.

Honey.jpg

I loved how everyone is staring at him pouring the honey into the cups!

See more of my Farmers’ Market pictures on Flickr. 

 

Seeyou.jpg

 

This entry was published on December 27, 2015 at 10:24 pm. It’s filed under Adventures, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

