Happy New Year!

StreetCorner.jpg

Happy New Year! Can you believe it is 2016 already? There is a feeling of endless possibilities, like anything can happen. But yesterday, the last day of the year, it felt like everything was ending. Dramatic, I know, but there was almost a sense of hopelessness that more couldn’t have happened.

Yesterday I did something a little crazy… I hopped on a bus with no plans, no destinations in mind, only a desire to do something new and different. It all began when I finished  Fans of the Impossible Life , a very interesting book with remarkable characters. One of the characters, Jeremy, wanted to be brave, which he did, in a way, become. I quickly identified with his shy, awkward, afraid to be hopeful personality. I realized that I am afraid, as well. Afraid of doing new things, going to new places, talking to strangers. Fears that have been stressing me out and stopping me from living the life I want to live.

In4mation.jpg

I ended up getting off in Chinatown and spent the afternoon taking pictures. It was truly amazing, I went to beautiful boutiques and had the most delicious dirty chai at Manifest. One such shop that was In4mation, a place that offered surfer/skater clothes, hats and art. Near the door there was a table with a few magazines piled on top of it. One magazine was clearly a form of advertising, portraying models with In4mation’s clothes and local artists. I was entranced by the beautiful art and mysterious portraits. I couldn’t help but ask one of the workers how much it was, which started a conversation about how it was free and how I wanted to work for a magazine. A man, presumably the owner,  said that I should “just go for it. If you want to work for a magazine, all you need to do is ask.” I was touched, here was a stranger supporting and encouraging me.

I ended the year feeling free from the stress that has haunted me for the past week. My resolutions for 2016 are simple, do what I am afraid of (a line from We Were Liars, another exquisite book) and to be a healthier person. I have the courage to go on a serendipitous adventure, I can conquer any challenges in this new year.

Surffins.jpg

Do you have any New Year resolutions?

 

This entry was published on January 1, 2016 at 11:00 pm. It’s filed under Adventures, Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. I love your resolutions! Simple and so necessary – mine are also to be a healthier person and to get out and explore more. Happy New Year and all the best for 2016! X

    Like

  2. There really is a special feeling of possibility at the beginning of January. And I really enjoyed We Were Liars when I read it last year!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Try Something New: Penpalling! – anyways.

Leave a Reply

