Change of Scenery

antiquesurfer.jpg

I’ll be honest, I didn’t know what to post today. I have so many dreams for this blog, so many things I want to write about. These aspirations have made me nervous, I don’t want to mess this up. With this in mind, I wrenched my bike out of the closet and set out towards Kailua in search of much needed inspiration.

alohas.jpg

Kailua is home to beautiful beaches, sunny open markets and my favorite coffee shop, Morning Brew. I didn’t go to any of these places (at first…), I went to an area I hardly ever visit… Extreme Tourist Street! This little area is home to four shops, Flower Child, Olive, Chadlou’s and Olivers. All of these stores is highly over priced and incredibly beautiful. Chadlou’s is the coffee shop in between the conveniently named Olive Boutique and Oliver’s Men Shop. Why didn’t I stay at the personable Chadlou’s and instead go to Morning Brew? Well, Chadlou’s was crowded, had prices that rivaled Starbucks and didn’t have air condition. You don’t understand, Oahu without air condition is miserable, no matter what time of the year it is.

Chadlou's.jpg

After deciding Chadlou’s wasn’t the place for me, I ventured into Olive and later Olivers. At first one would think that these were run by the same company because of their similar names, not true. Olive Boutique was started four years before Olivers and both are run by completely different people.

Basictote.jpg

 

Olive is very similar to the multitude of other tourist boutiques on Oahu, except two things. The fact that they sell beautiful handmade cards and have a selection of Smith’s rose lip balms. Two of my greatest weaknesses, I couldn’t resist. While the price of the cards was able to deter me, one of my favorite brands of lip balms? Upon seeing the mint rose lip balm I was defenseless, the universe had it against me.

Roselipstick.jpg

Oliver was a completely different ballpark. First, there is the smell that hits you, candles? The essence of surfer guys? Hard to tell the difference when it comes to sea salt candles… Other than candles, there was shirts, awesome Field Note journal sets (definitely coming back for these!), pocket knives and antique surfer figures scattered around the store. I couldn’t stop snapping pictures, everywhere I turned was another perfect picture.

Olivers.jpg

Now I am sitting in a corner spot in Morning Brew, enjoying the air condition while sipping a soy chai and munching on the wheat thins I snuck in (don’t tell anyone!) What better way to spend a Sunday? 

Also, I would like to apologize for the bad quality of my photos in this post, I forgot to charge my camera and had to use my phone! #photographerproblems (yep, I really did just write that…) 

Somedayscard.jpg

 

I hope your days are the better kind this week! 😀

This entry was published on January 18, 2016 at 12:25 am. It’s filed under Adventures, Photography, Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

9 thoughts on “Change of Scenery

  1. Thank you for bringing some Hawaii into my life! Such a fun post and enjoyed your tidbits – and phone cameras are pretty good these days – and one of my fav photos is the one of the sign with the cloud saying some days are better than others- ☕️☕️☕️

    Like

  2. I know exactly what you mean about not wanting to mess something up so you become very “careful” that you start to over think something. Sometimes you just have to take that jump and just do it! Lovely blog and post!
    -|D I A N A|

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, Diana! I agree, when things are really important to you it is hard to stop overthinking every detail. You just have to have confidence in yourself and what you are doing, it will be worth it! Thanks for commenting! 🙂

      Like

  3. I love days like these, where you don’t really have anywhere to go so you just pick somewhere and go wandering. I do it often on the weekends. That men’s store looks so charming!

    Liked by 1 person

    • These days are the best! I think I find the best places when I am not looking for anything in particular. 🙂 The men’s store was my favorite part, charming is the perfect word to describe it. Thank you for commenting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

